Beef Stroganoff

First post of 2013!

I’m not gonna go on about how I need to lose weight this year and get healthy, blah, blah, blah, but truth is, I do.  So over the next few months while myself and my family have a go at under-indulging, I plan to become re-aquainted with some favourite low-fat recipes.

A friend of mine has requested some family meals, so I am going to focus on some healthy family meals for a while, but don’t panic, I’m sure I wont be able to resist sneaking in a little treat now and then.

First up is a Beef Stroganoff based on a recipe from an old book I dug up called low-fat, more than 150 family recipes, it has got some great ideas!

This recipe is healthy, quick and delicious.

Beef Stroganoff

DSC_0012

Ingredients

500 grams rump steak, diced

1 onion, sliced

1/4 teaspoon paprika

250 grams mushrooms, sliced

2 tablespoons tomato paste

125 mls beef stock

125 mls low-fat evaporated milk

2 tablespoons cornflour

3 tablespoons chopped parsley

Method

Cook steak in batches until browned and remove from pan.

Fry the onion, mushrooms and paprika in a little oil until onion has softened. Add meat, tom paste and stock, bring to the boil and reduce heat to a simmer for 10 mins.

In a small jug, mix the milk with the cornflour. Add to the pan and stir until the sauce thickens.

Sprinkle with parsley and serve with rice. Add salt and pepper to taste.

 

This entry was posted in Cook Books, Recipes, savoury and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

