Easy, Peasy Mango and Cranberry Fruit Cake

Recently, my dad took me along to visit and old friend of the family. As we sat down to a cup of tea we were offered a piece of home-made fruit cake. Now, I am not huge fan of fruit cake, but this was an exception.

The cake was sweet, moist and light, as opposed to the dense, heavy and bitter fruit cakes I have tried. I was raving about how delicious the cake was as I dived for another piece, when our friend Joyce, grabbed a pen and jotted down the recipe for me.

It was so delicious I decided to make it for a Christmas party I attended on the weekend. I used dried cranberries and raisins as that is what I had in the cupboard and it turned out great. A summer-style Christmas fruit cake that is also sugar-free!

Mango and Cranberry Fruit Cake

DSC_0052

Ingredients

300 grams raisins

DSC_0018

200 grams dried cranberries

1/2 cup water

1 tin sliced mangos

1 1/2 cups self-raising flour

1 1/2 teaspoons bi carb soda

2 beaten eggs

Method

Bring dried fruit, water and mangos with juice, to boil in a pan.

Simmer for 20 mins then allow to cool.

Add flour, soda and eggs to a bowl with fruit mixture and stir well.

Line a loaf tin with baking paper and pour in mixture.

Bake in an oven at 155 degrees celsius for 1 hour.

Remove from pan and let cool, then slice and serve.

DSC_0063

This entry was posted in Baking, Christmas, Recipes, Sweets and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

