Nanna’s Chocolate Cake

I am in possession of something very special. I have a cook book my mother wrote when she was 14. It is completely gorgeous and full of recipes I remember from my childhood. It is hand written and even has a little mould round the edges as my mum used flour and water for glue to cover it.

Nanna’s cook book

My mum grew up in pakistan as my grandparents were missionaries when she was a child. The recipes are from her mother and her grandmother and are the sort of recipes and family tradition that I feel is so important to hold on to. This book is very special to me and I’m very excited to share it with you. She also makes a mean curry! I’ll get recipes!

I hope to share several recipes from the book, for today I have chosen good old chocolate cake. The cake is delicious and I found it quite easy to make and the ingredients were things I already had in my cupboard.

I think the peanut butter cookies will be next, stay tuned!

My mum with her mum and brothers

My mumand her twin brother in pakistan

My mum and her twin brother at age 14

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Nanna’s Chocolate Cake

So pretty

Ingredients

55gs butter (room temp)

1 cup caster sugar

2 eggs

3 tablespoons Cocoa powder

3/4 teaspoon salt

1 1/2 cups flour

1 cup sour milk (1 tablespoon white vinegar, stirred through 1 cup milk)

1 teaspoon bicarbonate soda

1 teaspoon vanilla essence

Method

Pre-heat oven to 190 degrees. Cream the butter, sugar and cocoa. Add milk and then flour with soda and salt. Beat in the eggs 1 at a time. Add vanilla. Put mixture in a greased 20cm cake tin and bake for 40-50 mins (keep an eye on it, my cake needed a little longer, but my oven is a bit temperamental!)

Nanna’s chocolate cake

I filled mine with butter cream icing I found at taste.com.au and topped with strawberries! delicious!

Butter cream icing

250 gms soft butter

3 cups icing sugar

1/4 cup milk

3 teaspoons cocoa powder

Method

Beat butter till pale and fluffy, add icing sugar 1 cup at a time and add cocoa, add milk till at desired thickness.

This entry was posted in Sweets, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Nanna’s Chocolate Cake

  1. Kathy says:

    Great to see a chocolate cake so easy for youngsters to make. How often is it just a packet cake from the supermarket!
    Kathy

    • Kate Dzienis says:

      I agree Kathy! I’m so over the cake packets that have so many “fake” ingredients in them and it’s always a proud-grinning moment when you bake a cake from scratch. Lise’s cake looks so delicious, she may need to bake extra of everything for her readers to taste test!

Leave a Reply

